- Muslim2go

Islam: An Introduction to the Religion of Muslims

Muslims are a diverse group of people who follow the religion of Islam. They have a variety of cultural and ethnic backgrounds and can be found all over the world. In this article, we will examine some of the basic beliefs and practices of Islam and discuss the role of Muslims in today’s world.

Muslim is the term for one who belongs to Islam, that is, Muslim. The plural form in German is Moslems or Muslims, Muslimas or Musliminnen.

introduction to islamic history

What is the most important thing in Islam?

The five pillars of Islam are the most important rules for devout Muslims. They include the public profession of faith, daily ritual prayer, zakat, fasting during Ramadan, and the pilgrimage to Mecca.

Muslims follow a set of strict moral guidelines known as the Five Pillars of Islam. These pillars include the profession of faith (Shahada), daily prayer (Salat), almsgiving (Zakat), fasting during the month of Ramadan (Sawm), and the pilgrimage to Mecca (Hajj). These pillars are an important part of a Muslim’s daily life and help strengthen his faith and attachment to Allah.

Nouns. Muslim also: muslim, muslim – feminine [REL.] Muslim also: muslim, muslim [REL.] Muslim also: muslim, muslim [REL.]

There are two major faiths in Islam: Sunnism and Shi’ism.

Sunniism is the largest faith in Islam and comprises about 85-90% of the world’s Muslim population. Shi’ism is the second largest faith and comprises about 10-15% of the world’s Muslim population.

The Abrahamic religions are a group of religions that refer to Abraham as their common ancestor and have common roots in the monotheistic tradition of the West. The three largest Abrahamic religions are Judaism, Christianity, and Islam.

Sunnis as the majority Islam and also the direction of the Islamic doctrine of norms.

The Sunnis (Arabic أهل السنه , DMG ahl as-sunna ‘people of the Sunnah’) form the largest faith group in Islam. Their faith itself is referred to as Sunnism or Sunnism. The term derives from the Arabic word sunna (‘custom, way of acting, handed-down norm, tradition’).

Sufi currents.

Sufism or Sufism (also Sufik, Arabic تَصَوُّف , DMG taṣawwuf) is a collective term for currents in Islam that exhibit ascetic tendencies and a spiritual orientation, often also referred to by the word mysticism.


Shia (Arabic الشيعة asch-schīʿa, DMG aš-šīʿa ‘following, party, group’), also called Shiism or Shiism in German, is the second largest religious current within Islam after Sunnism.

In Islam, there are four traditional schools of law that relate to the interpretation of Islamic law (Shariah) and the application of that law in various aspects of daily life. These four schools of law are:

The Hanafi school of law: this school of law was founded in the 8th century by Imam Abu Hanifa and is particularly prevalent in Sunni Islam. It has great influence on the law in countries such as India, Pakistan, and Bangladesh.

The Malikite school of law: this school of law was founded by Imam Malik in the 7th century and is most prevalent in the western part of the Arab region, including North Africa and Mauritania.

The Shafi’i school of law: this school of law was founded by Imam Muhammad ibn Idris al-Shafi’i in the 9th century and is most prevalent in the southeastern part of the Arab region, including Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates.

The Hanbalite school of law: this school of law was founded by Imam Ahmad ibn Hanbal in the 9th century and is most common in the central part of the Arab region, including Kuwait and Qatar.

There are also other, lesser-known schools of law in Islam, but they are less influential compared to the four traditional schools of law.

In Islam, certain actions and behaviors are considered acceptable (halal) and others unacceptable (haram). These guidelines are based on the teachings of the Quran and the example of the Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him). Here are some examples of what is generally considered halal (permitted) and haram (not permitted) in Islam:


Performing daily prayer (salat)
Giving alms (zakat) to those in need
Fasting during the month of Ramadan (sawm)
The pilgrimage to Mecca (Hajj)
Eating food that is permitted (halal) according to Islamic law


Committing crimes or acts of violence
Consuming alcohol or intoxicants
Having extramarital affairs or premarital sex
Eating pork or other foods that are not permitted (haram) under Islamic law.

It is important to note that these are only a few examples and that there are many other actions and behaviors that are considered halal or haram in Islam. In general, Muslims are encouraged to live righteous lives and avoid actions that are harmful to themselves or others.

introduction to islam essay

Muslim2go Your Islam Learning App Showcase

Knowledge acquisition according to different learning modes


The Islamic quiz and learning application is available in several languages

The application is available in 2 languages: English and German. Other languages will be added.

Worldwide now at Google Play Store - Learn Islam App

Muslim2go Community

islam online lernen App